Research Funding

FY25 Statement to OMB, OSTP, DOE Leadership

February, 2024: The Society for Science at User Research Facilities (SSURF) wrote to Shalanda Young, Director of the White House Office of Management and Budget, Dr. Arati Prabhakar, Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), and Jennifer Granholm, Secretary of the U.S.  Dept. of Energy (DOE) to bring attention to express our strong support for the fundamental research and scientific user facilities stewarded by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its Office of Science. More specifically, as the Administration develops the Fiscal Year 2025 (FY25) budget request for the DOE, we urged their consideration to provide no less than $9.5 billion for the Office of Science consistent with the bipartisan CHIPS and Science Act, signed into law on August 9, 2022.


* indicates required